Australian Open Preview

australian open previewCheck out the latest odds for the first grand slam event of the year in our Australian Open preview, along with recent winners and results.

The 2019 Australian Open Tennis Championship takes place from Monday 15th January through until Sunday 28th January 2019 at the Melbourne Park tennis centre in Melbourne, Australia.

This event is the first of four tennis Grand Slams held during the year and is played on a hardcourt surface.

Next up is the French Open during May & June in Paris, France, followed by Wimbledon in June & July in London, England.

The US Open rounds out Grand Slam tennis during August & September in New York, in the United States.

Fancy the best odds for Australian Open? Then check out our recommended tennis bookmaker Sportsbet to hit an early ace with their futures markets.

Australian Open Odds

Sportsbet has a huge range of betting markets available for punters. Bet on Head to Head matches, Total Sets, Total Games, Match Betting & many more.

2019 Australian Open Odds – Men

Latest odds for Men’s draw

2019 Australian Open Odds – Women

Latest odds for Women’s draw

We highly recommend online bookmaker Sportsbet for betting on the tennis. Join Sportsbet now to ensure the best odds for your bet!

Latest Australian Open Winners

Switzerland’s Roger Federer defeated Croatia’s Marin Cilic in five sets, 6-2, 6-7, 6-3, 3-6, 6-1 to win the men’s title, capturing his sixth crown in the process.

Denmark’s Caroline Wozniacki defeated Romanian Simona Halep 7–6, 3–6, 6–4, to win women’s division, in a thrilling match that lasted almost three hours.

It was Wozniacki’s first Grand Slam victory and the win elevated her to world number one ranking for the first time in six years.

Australian Open winners & results

The last five men’s winners can be found below.

Last 5 Australian Open Men’s Winners

2018 Roger Federer def Marin Cilic 6-2, 6-7, 6-3, 3-6, 6-1
2017 Roger Federer def Rafael Nadal 6–4, 3–6, 6–1, 3–6, 6–3
2016 Novak Djokovic def Andy Murray 6-1, 7-5, 7-6
2015 Novak Djokovic def Andy Murray 7-6, 6-7, 6-3, 6-0
2014 Stan Wawrinka def Rafael Nadal 6-3 6-2 3-6 6-3

Last 5 Australian Open Women’s Winners

2018 Caroline Wozniacki def Simona Halep 7–6, 3–6, 6–4
2017 Serena Williams def Venus Williams 6–4, 6–4
2016 Angelique Kerber def Serena Williams 6-4, 3-6, 6-4
2015 Serena Williams def Maria Sharapova 6-3 7-6
2014 Na Li def Dominika Cibilcova 7-6, 6-0

Tennis Grand Slam Events

Three more tennis grand slam events are played alongside the Australian Open each year.

These are the French Open (May & June), Wimbledon (June & July), and the US Open (August & September).

Sportsbet has a huge range of tennis betting markets for all four grand slam events.