Brisbane Winter Carnival

brisbane winter racing carnivalThe 2019 Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival takes place during the months of April, May and June in Brisbane, Queensland.

The Brisbane Racing Club (BRC) conducts metropolitan racing in Brisbane at Doomben racecourse and Eagle Farm racecourse, while the Golf Coast Turf Club (GCTC) administers racing at the Gold Coast racecourse.

Major race of the Brisbane winter carnival is the $1,500,000 Stradbroke Handicap (1200m) at Eagle Farm in June.

Group racing action kicks off in late April with the Group 2 Victory Stakes (1200m) meeting at Eagle Farm. The following week is Group 2 Hollindale Stakes (1800m) day at the Gold Coast, where a top day of thoroughbred racing action takes place.

Doomben hosts the first group one race of the Brisbane winter carnival when the Group 1 Doomben 10,000 (1200m) headlines a huge day of feature racing in early May.

The Group 1 Doomben Cup (2000m) and Group 1 BTC Cup (1300m) follow over the next two Saturdays, while the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m), the most prestigious feature race of the Brisbane winter carnival, features on the second day of the three-day Eagle Farm Carnival in June.

Other notable feature races during the Eagle Farm racing carnival include the $500,000 Group 1 The TJ Smith (1200m), the $500,000 Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m) and the $500,000 Group 1 Winter Stakes (1400m).

Enjoy top odds and promotions for Brisbane racing at our partnered online bookmakers, Sportsbet and Ladbrokes.

Brisbane also hosts three Group 3 races in December including the George Moore Stakes, BJ Mclachlan Stakes and Vo Rogue Plate.

Brisbane Winter Carnival Bookmakers

Australia’s best bookmakers for sports and racing can be found below. Take advantage of top odds and outstanding member promotions from our recommended bookies. To join a bookmaker, simply click any ‘JOIN NOW’ button below.

Bet Type
Enjoy Top Tote Plus
Enjoy Best of the Best
Enjoy Best Tote Plus
Enjoy Better than TAB

2019 Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival Calendar

Click on any race name below to be taken to Australia’s best feature race website ‘Horse Racing Info’ for full race previews and info for that particular race.

Saturday 27th April 2019
Eagle Farm $200,000 Group 2 Victory Stakes 1200m
Eagle Farm $125,000 Group 3 Gunsynd Classic 1600m
Saturday 4th May 2019
Gold Coast $350,000 Group 2 Hollindale Stakes 1800m
Gold Coast $125,000 Group 3 Gold Coast Guineas 1200m
Gold Coast $125,000 Group 3 Ken Russell Memorial Classic 1200m
Saturday 11th May 2019
Doomben $700,000 Group 1 Doomben 10000 1200m
Doomben $175,000 Group 2 Champagne Classic 1200m
Doomben $175,000 Group 3 Doomben Roses 2000m
Doomben $125,000 Group 3 Chairman’s Handicap 2000m
Doomben $125,000 Group 3 Rough Habit Plate 2000m
Saturday 18th May 2019
Doomben $650,000 Group 1 Doomben Cup 2000m
Doomben $125,000 Group 3 BRC Sprint 1350m
Saturday 25th May 2019
Eagle Farm $750,000 Group 1 BTC Cup 1300m
Eagle Farm $250,000 Group 2 Sires Produce Stakes 1400m
Eagle Farm $150,000 Group 3 Lady Of The Turf Stakes 1350m
Eagle Farm $125,000 Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes 2200m
Eagle Farm $125,000 Group 3 Premier’s Cup 2200m
Eagle Farm $125,000 Group 3 Lord Mayors Cup 1600m
Eagle Farm $125,000 Group 3 Fred Best Classic 1350m
Saturday 1st June 2019
Eagle Farm $400,000 Group 1 Queensland Oaks 2400m
Eagle Farm $250,000 Group 2 PJ O’Shea Stakes 2200m
Eagle Farm $175,000 Group 2 QTC Cup 1300m
Saturday 8th June 2019
Eagle Farm $1,500,000 Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap 1400m
Eagle Farm $600,000 Group 1 The TJ Smith 1600m
Eagle Farm $600,000 Group 1 Queensland Derby 2400m
Eagle Farm $400,000 Group 2 Queensland Guineas 1600m
Eagle Farm $300,000 Group 2 Brisbane Cup 2400m
Eagle Farm $200,000 Group 2 Dane Ripper Quality 1400m
Saturday 22nd June 2019
Eagle Farm $500,000 Group 1 Winter Stakes 1400m
Eagle Farm $200,000 Group 3 Tattersall’s Cup 2200m
Eagle Farm $175,000 Group 3 WJ Healy Stakes 1200m
Saturday 29th June 2019
Sunshine Coast $125,000 Group 3 Sunshine Coast Guineas 1600m
Saturday 30th November 2019
Doomben $200,000 Group 3 George Moore Stakes 1200m
Saturday 28th December 2019
Eagle Farm $150,000 Group 3 BJ Mclachlan Stakes 1350m
Eagle Farm $150,000 Group 3 Vo Rogue Plate 1350m

Online bookmakers William Hill and Sportsbet are your best bet for Brisbane racing!

About Brisbane Racing

The Brisbane Racing Club (BRC) administers metropolitan racing at Doomben and Eagle Farm race tracks in Brisbane, Queensland.

The BRC formed in July 2009, following a merger between the Queensland Turf Club (QTC) and Brisbane Turf Club (BTC).

Doomben and Eagle Farm host almost 100 city meetings between them during the year with carnivals held in summer and winter.

The Brisbane winter carnival is the major carnival of the Brisbane racing year, featuring the Doomben 10,000 and Stradbroke Handicap. Summer racing in Brisbane is home to the George Moore Stakes and B.J. McLachlan Stakes.

Where is Doomben Racecourse?

Doomben Racecourse is located in the suburb of Ascot in Brisbane, Queensland, and is more or less across the road from Eagle Farm.

Doomben Racecourse address: 75 Hampden Street, Ascot 4007

Where is Eagle Farm Racecourse?

Eagle Farm Racecourse is situated in the suburb of Ascot, Brisbane, in Queensland, and is opposite Doomben Racecourse.

Eagle Farm Racecourse address: 230 Lancaster Road, Ascot 4007

Public transport is your best option to get to Doomben and Eagle Farm racetracks. Free parking is available for patrons who prefer to travel by car.