Melbourne Cup

The Melbourne Cup is the ‘race that stops a nation’ at 3pm on the first Tuesday in November each year as over 100,000 enthusiastic racegoers head to Flemington to witness Australia’s most famous race.

The 2016 Melbourne Cup is scheduled to take place on Tuesday 1st November 2016 at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne.

Raced over a distance of 3200 metres, the Melbourne Cup is the richest two-mile handicap race in the world and brings together an eclectic mix of gallopers from Australia, New Zealand, and across the globe, to do battle for over $6.3 Million in prizemoney.

The 2016 Melbourne Cup will be the 156th running of Australia’s greatest race and Michelle Payne rode locally trained Pirates Of Penzance to victory last year, becoming the first female jockey to win our great race.

2016 Melbourne Cup Race Details

Date Tuesday 1st November 2016
Track: Flemington racecourse
Distance: 3200 metres
Purse: $6,175,000
Status: Group 1
Conditions: Handicap

william hill free bets

Melbourne Cup Week Feature Races

The Victoria Turf Club (VRC) hosts the Melbourne Cup, which is one of four prestigious Group 1 race days that combine to make up the Melbourne Cup Carnival, along with AAMI Victoria Derby day, Crown Oaks day and Emirates Stakes day.

Melbourne Cup Day is a massive day of betting across Australia with punters from all walks of life having a bet on the great race. Betting turnover has been over $100Million in NSW and Victoria alone in recent times on Melbourne Cup Day.

Melbourne Cup week is the feature attraction of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival which takes place each year during September to November in the state of Victoria.

Other prestigious Group 1 races during the Melbourne spring carnival include the $2.5 Million Caulfield Cup at Caulfield racecourse in October, and the $3 Million WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley racecourse the following week, making the city of Melbourne the mecca of big time racing during springtime.

2016 Melbourne Cup Bonus Bets

Sports and has partnered with Australia’s biggest bookmakers for spring racing which means Melbourne Cup free bets can be yours by simply clicking on any boomkaer join now buttons below.

Bonus Bets
100% up to $502
100% up to $501
100% up to $500
100% up to $150

Terms and conditions apply to all joining offers. Make sure you read all conditions on each bookies landing page to  ensure you aware of all terms for any offer.


2016 Melbourne Cup Day race times

The 2016 Melbourne Cup will commence at 3:00pm AEST Melbourne time at the picturesque Flemington racecourse in front of more than 100,000 racing fans on Melbourne Cup Day on Tuesday 1st November 2016.

The Emirates Melbourne Cup traditionally runs as Race 7 on the program.

Race # Time Status Race name Distance
Race 1 10.20am Group 3 Ottawa Stakes 1000m
Race 2 11.00am Stakes Trophy 1700m
Race 3 11.45am Stakes Visit Victoria Plate 2800m
Race 4 12.30pm Stakes Lavazza Short Black 1400m
Race 5 1.15pm Stakes Schweppes 1000m
Race 6 2.00pm Listed Lexus Hybrid Plate 1400m
Race 7 3.00pm Group 1 2016 Melbourne Cup 3200m 
Race 8 3.55pm Listed James Boag’s Stakes 1800m
Race 9 4.35pm Stakes Mss Security Sprint 1200m
Race 10 5.15pm Group 3 Maybe Mahal Stakes 1400m

Th 2015 Melbourne Cup meeting attracted 101,105 racing fans to Flemington to witness Darren Weir trained stayer Prince Of Penzance defeat international galloper Max Dynamite, second, with Lindsay Park’s Criterion finishing third.

Melbourne Cup History

The Melbourne Cup was first run in 1861 and taken out by Archer, who also won it again the next year. Over the years some historic names have won the great race including the lendary Phar Lap (1930), Peter Pan (1932 & 1934), Rising Fast (1954), Rain Lover (1968 & 1969), Saintly (1996) and Might And Power (1997).

Grand mare Makybe Diva is the only galloper to win the great race three times when she was successful in consecutive years (2003, 2004 & 2005), stamping herself as one of the greatest mares of all time in this country.

Winning the Melbourne Cup commands a rich place in history for both horse and connections with all owners, trainers and riders aspiring to win the Cup and take their place in history. Master trainer of stayers Bart Cummings has scored the most Melbourne Cup winners with twelve while jockeys Bobbie Lewis and Harry White have both ridden the most winners with four each.

Australia’s first lady of racing, Gai Waterhouse, won this race for the first time in 2013 with imported galloper Fiorente, while Michelle Payne became the first women jockey to win the Melbourne Cup in 2015 when she guided Prince Of Penzance to victory.

2016 Melbourne Cup Best Odds

Open a new online betting account at Betfair and place a first bet of $200 to receive a $200 First Bet Refund during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

>>> Get your $200 Melbourne Cup Free Bet <<<

Betfair will match your first bet up to $200 with a refund to the same value as your first bet!

betfair free bets

(Terms & conditions apply to this offer and it excludes NSW, WA, SA  & VIC)